

TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT & ROAD SAFETY COMMITTEE

TERMS OF REFERENCE

1. ESTABLISHMENT

- 1.1 The Council has established the Traffic Management & Road Safety Committee (referred to in these Terms of Reference as "the Committee") pursuant to Section 41 of the *Local Government Act* 1999 ("the Act").
- 1.2 The Committee will be known as the Traffic Management & Road Safety Committee.
- 1.3 The Committee may be wound up at any time by resolution of the Council.
- 1.4 These Terms of Reference were adopted by the Council on 5 December 2022.

2. OBJECTIVES

- 2.1 The Committee is established to fulfil the following functions:
 - 2.1.1 To make a final determination on traffic management issues which are referred to the Committee in accordance with the requirements of the Council's Local Area Traffic Management Policy ("the Policy"); and
 - 2.1.2 To consider proposals and recommendations regarding traffic and parking which seek to improve traffic management and road safety throughout the City, other than when the Manager has delegation to investigate and determine the matter.

3. MEMBERSHIP

- 3.1 The Committee will comprise six (6) members.
- 3.2 Membership of the Committee will comprise:
 - Cr Kevin Duke;
 - Cr Hugh Holfeld;
 - Cr Garry Knoblauch;
 - Mr Nick Meredith (Specialist Independent Member);
 - Mr Shane Foley (Specialist Independent Member); and
 - Mr Charles Mountain (Specialist Independent Member).
- 3.3 Subject to Clause 1.3 of these Terms of Reference, membership of the Committee is for the two year term of the Committee *unless* a Member resigns or is otherwise incapable of continuing as a Member or is removed from office by the Council.
- 3.4 The Committee must report to the Council where a Member has failed (without the leave of the Committee) to attend three (3) consecutive meetings of the Committee.
- 3.5 Specialist Independent Members are eligible for re-appointment to the Committee for a further two (2) year term, subject to agreement by the Council and the Member.

4. PRESIDING MEMBER

- 4.1 The Presiding Member of the Committee will be determined by the Committee at the first meeting of the Committee.
- 4.2 If the Presiding Member of the Committee is absent from a meeting, then a Member of the Committee by resolution of the Committee will preside at the meeting until the Presiding Member is present.
- 4.3 The role of the Presiding Member includes:
 - 4.3.1 Overseeing and facilitating the conduct of meetings in accordance with the Act and the Local Government (Procedures at Meetings) Regulations 2013.
 - 4.3.2 Ensuring all Committee Members have an opportunity to participate in discussions in an open and encouraging manner.
 - 4.3.3 Where a matter has been debated significantly and no new information is being discussed, to call the meeting to order and ask for the debate to be finalised and the motion to be put.

5. DELEGATION

- 5.1 The Council delegates to the Committee the functions set out in clause 2.1 of these Terms of Reference necessary for the Committee to achieve its objectives.
- 5.2 Clause 5.1 is subject to these Terms of Reference being adopted by the Council pursuant to Clause 1.4.

6. NOTICE OF MEETINGS

6.1 Notice of the meetings of the Committee will be given in accordance with Sections 87 and 88 of the Local Government Act 1999.

Accordingly, notice will be given:

- 6.1.1 To Members of the Committee by email or as otherwise agreed by Committee Members at least three (3) clear days before the date of the meeting.
- 6.1.2 To the public as soon as practicable after the time that notice of the meeting is given to Committee Members by causing a copy of the notice and agenda to be displayed at the Council's offices and on the Council's website.

7. PUBLIC ACCESS TO MEETINGS

- 7.1 The Committee shall meet at the Offices of the Council located at the Norwood Town Hall, 175 The Parade, Norwood or at a location determined by the Chief Executive Officer.
- 7.2 Members of the public are able to attend all meetings of the Committee, unless prohibited by resolution of the Committee under the confidentiality provisions of Section 90 of the *Local Government Act 1999*.

8. MEETING PROCEDURES

- 8.1 The Committee shall act at all times in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1999* and Part 2 of the *Local Government (Procedures at Meetings) Regulations 2013* (the Regulations).
- 8.2 Insofar as the Act, the Regulations, or these Terms of Reference do not prescribe the procedure to be observed in relation to the conduct of a meeting of the Committee, the Committee may determine its own procedure.
- 8.3 The Committee shall meet at the Norwood Town Hall, 175 The Parade, Norwood, on such dates and at such times as the Committee by resolution may determine, or as determined by the Chief Executive Officer.
- 8.4 All decisions of the Committee shall be made on the basis of a majority of the Committee Members present.
- 8.5 A quorum for a meeting of the Committee is four (4) Committee Members.
- 8.6 All Committee Members (subject to the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1999* or *Local Government (Procedures at Meetings) Regulations 2013*), must vote on any matter arising for decision at a meeting of the Committee.
- 8.7 Every Committee Member has a deliberative vote only. The Presiding Member of the Committee has a deliberative vote on a question arising for decision at the meeting but does not, in the event of an equality of votes, have a casting vote.
- 8.8 The Council will provide a support officer for the purposes of the co-ordination and preparation of agendas and reports for and minutes of Committee meetings and to act as a point of contact for all Committee Members.
- 8.9 The Committee may hold Information or Briefing Sessions from time to time in accordance with the provisions of Section 90(8a) of the *Local Government Act 1999* and the *Local Government (General) Regulations 2013.*

9. REPORTING

9.1 Pursuant to Section 41(8) of the *Local Government Act 1999*, all decisions of the Committee will be reported to the Council for the purpose of information only.

10. TERM OF THE COMMITTEE

- 10.1 The Committee will be wound up without further action by the Council at the conclusion of the term of the Committee.
- 10.2 The term of the Committee expires on 31 October 2024.